David Geary

no thumb

Four Presidents, One Chautauqua

In its 142 years, Chautauqua Institution has attracted a who’s-who of cultural, educational, religious and political luminaries. Among them have been four sitting American presidents: Ulysses S. Grant, Theodore Roosevelt, Franklin Delano Roosevelt and Bill

Through Joe Wiegand, Roosevelt returns to Chautauqua

Theodore Roosevelt once called Chautauqua Institution “the most American thing in America.” As governor of New York, Roosevelt visited the Institution on Aug. 19, 1899, and gave a spirited talk from a balcony at the Aldine on Simpson Avenue. The theme was the political responsibilities of all
1 3 4 5
Page 5 of 5